Our Very Own “Million Dollar Quartet” Part 4

This year’s Tony Award ceremony is fast-approaching (June 13)! As many of you may know, Village Theatre is thrilled to be part of the excitement for a second year in a row. Last year, Next To Normal (developed in the Village Originals program in 2002 and 2005) was nominated for 11 awards, and took home three. This year, Million Dollar Quartet (developed as a reading in 2006, and produced on the Mainstage in 2007) is up for three Awards.

One of the most exciting parts of MDQ becoming so successful is the fact that the Broadway production took along with it four of Village Theatre’s original cast members, creating our very own “Million Dollar Quartet.” And, as promised, the VT Blog has caught up with each and every one of them, posting Q&A’s with Levi Kreis (Tony nominee), Lance Guest, Rob Lyons, and for the final “Quartet” member, we’ve interview Corey Kaiser. A former Seattlite, Corey plays Jay Perkins, the upright bassist in the show. Read more right here!!

____________________________________________

Village Theatre (VT): How did you first hear about Village Theatre’s auditions for MDQ?

Corey Kaiser (CK): Matt Weiner, who was in the 5th Aveue Theatre’s Buddy, referred Village Theatre to me…if memory serves. (Thanks Matt!) Also, Billy Joe Huels (of Buddy as well) mentioned to me that there was another rock ‘n roll/rockabilly-themed theatre production in the works that I might want to audition for, but didn’t give it much thought. Then, out of the blue I got a call from casting at Village Theatre asking me to come in for an audition, and I still almost didn’t go for it… boy, that would’ve been a bad move!

VT: Did you think it would be such a big success at that time?

CK: I had a feeling people who wouldn’t usually consider ever going to a musical theatre performance would hear about MDQ and have their interest piqued. It really isn’t your typical show. That said, it has grown longer legs more quickly than I ever would have guessed.

Corey Kaiser in Village Theatre’s production. Photo by Jay Koh.

VT: When you were offered the part as Jay Perkins, did you accept the job at once, or did you have to think about it?

CK: I accepted right away! I hadn’t done any acting since high school, so I was a bit nervous about that, but I had been playing rockabilly and country extensively for almost 10 years (at times for a living) and was excited to dust off my acting chops to deliver gems like “Yup” and “Yup, four bucks”.

VT: What was the casting process like for the Broadway production?

CK: Well, I ran into Chuck Mead (MDQ’s musical director at Village Theatre and on B’way) at SXSW in Austin in the spring of 2009, and he mentioned that MDQ was possibly coming to Broadway, and if it did, would I want to audition? I did, but it really seemed like such a long shot. There are so many good upright bass players in NYC, I didn’t think I stood a chance. I guess my hillbilly showed through just enough to win me the part.

VT: How does it feel to be a Broadway performer?!

CK: Fan-bleeping-tastic. It’s kind of a dream come true — I’m not gonna lie to ya.

Broadway production. Rob Lyons (Cal Perkins) is standing on Corey Kaiser’s (Jay Perkins) upright bass. Photo by Joan Marcus.

VT: What is your favorite memory of your time at Village Theatre?

CK: Can I say night after night of drinks with cast and crew at the H&H? No? Ok. I think probably the first day of on stage rehearsals in Village will really stick with me… something about being in the theatre made me all warm and fuzzy inside.

Thanks, Corey!!